FundedNext Rules Explained

Short answer. FundedNext's maximum drawdown is static on Stellar 1-Step, 2-Step and Lite and trailing on Stellar Instant. If you have read articles that contradict each other on this, that is why — they are describing different products and saying “FundedNext”.

Only two rules end an account: the daily loss limit and the maximum loss limit. The 40% consistency rule and the news rule cost you money at payout time, not the account.

Every figure below comes from FundedNext's own help centres, read in September 2026. Prop firms change terms — confirm on fundednext.com before purchasing.

Why do sources disagree about FundedNext's drawdown?

Because they are describing different products. Stellar 1-Step, 2-Step and Lite are static; Stellar Instant is trailing. Neither article said which product it meant, and a trader who reads the wrong one will size positions against a floor that is not there.

Two widely-cited write-ups say opposite things about the same firm. One describes a “static (absolute) drawdown of 10%… your floor is locked at 90% of your starting balance and never moves”. The other describes a “10% maximum trailing drawdown… calculated from the highest equity point”. Those cannot both describe one product.

FundedNext's own help centre settles it in one sentence. The Maximum Loss Limit is “the maximum amount you can lose in each phase of your trading journey. It is based on your initial balance.” Based on the initial balance is the definition of a static floor: it does not follow your equity up, and it does not follow it down.

The exception is Stellar Instant, which has its own article and its own model — “a Maximum Loss Limit of 6%, which follows the trailing loss limit method”. It starts 6% below the initial balance, rises when equity makes a new high, never falls back, and stops rising at the initial balance.

So both articles were right, about different products, and both were wrong to say “FundedNext”. This is the third firm in our set to run more than one drawdown model at once — E8 Markets sells three, The5ers varies its daily rule by program — and it is now clearly a pattern rather than a quirk. If the distinction itself is unfamiliar, static vs trailing drawdown works both models through on a single account balance.

Which FundedNext rules cost you the account, and which only cost a payout?

Only two: the daily loss limit and the maximum loss limit. Everything else — the 40% consistency rule, the news rule, the minimum trading days — costs you a payout or some time, not the account. FundedNext's rules are not equally dangerous, and treating them as if they were is how traders end up trading scared of the wrong thing.

RuleWhat breaching it costs
Daily loss limitThe account.FundedNext: your account “will be breached, and you won't be able to place any trades”. A Challenge account needs a reset; a funded account means starting again with a new Challenge.
Maximum loss limitThe account.FundedNext: your account “will be paused, and you will not be able to continue trading”. Same consequence on a funded account.
40% consistency ruleA payout, not the account. It “only applies at the point of your on-demand reward request” and is explicitly not a daily profit cap.
News rulePart of a payout. On a funded account only 40% of profit made in the 5 minutes either side of a listed high-impact event counts. Losses in that window still count in full.
Minimum trading daysTime. You cannot pass until you have met it; it does not breach anything.

Two sources suggested this hard-versus-soft split before we checked, and FundedNext's own wording supports it. It is worth internalising because the two terminal rules are both loss rules — which means every genuinely account-ending risk at FundedNext is measurable in advance with a calculator, and none of it depends on judgement calls about consistency or news.

How do FundedNext's four Stellar products differ?

Nobody appears to have laid these out together, which is how the drawdown confusion survives. Every populated cell below is FundedNext's own figure.

RuleStellar 1-StepStellar 2-StepStellar LiteStellar Instant
Phases122None — funded on purchase
Profit target10%8% Phase 1 · 5% Phase 28% Phase 1 · 4% Phase 2None to pass — 5% growth to request a reward
Daily loss limit3% of initial balance5% of initial balance4% of initial balanceNone
Max loss limit6% — STATIC10% — STATIC8% — STATIC6% — TRAILING
Floor on a $100k account$94,000 — fixed$90,000 — fixed$92,000 — fixedStarts $94,000, rises with equity highs, stops at $100,000
Minimum trading days25 per phase, 1 trade each5, 1 trade eachNot stated in our source
Time limitNoneNoneNoneNot stated in our source
Reward share15% of the challenge target, then 90%15% of the challenge target, then 80% → 90%80% → 90% with Scale-Up70% tiers 1–2, 80% from tier 3
Expert AdvisorsNo — manual only, no third-party indicatorsNot on Match-Trader — manual onlyYes — EAs and custom indicators allowedNot stated in our source
Copy tradingOwn accounts onlyOwn accounts onlyOwn accounts onlyNot stated in our source
Consistency rule40% best day — at reward request only40% best day — at reward request only40% best day — at reward request onlyNot stated in our source

Six cells are marked not stated. Five of them are Stellar Instant, which has the thinnest documentation of the four — its own articles cover the loss limits, rewards and scale-up in detail but do not state a minimum trading day count, a time limit, an Expert Advisor policy or how the consistency rule applies to it. We would rather show the gap than fill it from a blog.

How much can you lose in a day on each Stellar product?

There is no single FundedNext daily loss number, which is the second thing articles flatten. It is 3% on 1-Step, 5% on 2-Step, 4% on Lite, and absent entirely on Instant — FundedNext: “There are no Daily Loss Limits in Stellar Instant Accounts.”

The calculation is “Initial Balance × Daily Loss Limit Percentage of Your Enrolled Challenge Account”. Note initial balance — the allowance does not shrink as the account draws down over the weeks, and FundedNext add that profit made during the day increases what you can lose that day.

On a $100,000 account, on a day that starts flat:

ProductDaily allowanceEquity floor for the day1% risk per trade buys you
Stellar 1-Step$3,000$97,0003 losers
Stellar 2-Step$5,000$95,0005 losers
Stellar Lite$4,000$96,0004 losers

The 1-Step is the tightest daily rule in the lineup and it is paired with the largest profit target — 10% to pass against 3% of daily room. That combination is the real character of the product, and it is invisible if you have read a page that quotes one blanket 5%.

The reset time is not New York. FundedNext: “your daily loss limit will reset every day at 00:00 (server time)”, and server time is GMT+3 during Daylight Saving Time, GMT+2 otherwise. Several articles state 00:00 ET. Depending on the season that is six or seven hours out, which is enough to put a trade on the wrong side of a reset.

Does FundedNext's consistency rule fail your account?

FundedNext state that your best trading day's profit should not exceed 40% of your total generated profit. Articles quoting 30% are simply wrong.

The more important correction is what it does. It is “not a daily profit cap” and it “only applies at the point of your on-demand reward request”, on the funded FundedNext Account rather than during the Challenge. Where our sources disagreed on whether this terminates an account or gates a payout, FundedNext's own wording is unambiguous: it gates a payout.

In practice: on $10,000 of total profit, no single day may account for more than $4,000 of it at the moment you request a reward. One outsized day does not lose you the account — it delays the withdrawal until the rest of your trading has caught up.

Which FundedNext products have been retired?

Two rounds of retirement explain most of the phantom products in circulating lineups.

Express and Evaluation were CFD models retired years ago — FundedNext: “effective March 18th, 2025, we no longer offer the Express and Evaluation model to our new clients”. Their figures still appear in comparison articles, including a 25% Express profit target. If you see Express quoted as current, the page is at least eighteen months stale.

Legacy, Rapid and Bolt are Futures products, not Stellar ones. They live on a separate help centre (helpfutures.fundednext.com) with separate account sizes — $25K, $50K, $100K and $150K. Lists that present them alongside Stellar as one seven-product CFD lineup have merged two different businesses.

Within Futures, the current types are Legacy, Flex, Rapid Pro (no daily loss limit by default) and Rapid Daily (daily loss limit in place). Futures Rapid and Futures Bolt are both listed as “Not available for Purchase/Reset”, with the note: “Effective 10 July 2026, Rapid and Bolt accounts will no longer be available for new purchases or account resets.”

Where do FundedNext's own pages disagree with each other?

The Bolt retirement is contradicted by FundedNext themselves. The Futures help centre lists Bolt as unavailable for purchase or reset as of 10 July 2026. The Bolt product page at fundednext.com/futures/bolt was still live in September 2026, still carrying “Start Challenge” buttons, and carried no retirement notice of any kind.

We have not resolved which is current, and we are not going to guess: one of the two is stale and only FundedNext can say which. If you intend to buy a Bolt account, that is a question for their support before you pay, not something to settle from a comparison page — theirs or ours.

For the record, the Bolt product page states a $3,000 profit target, a $1,000 daily loss limit described as a soft breach, a $2,000 maximum loss limit, and an end-of-day trailing drawdown. That is a fourth set of mechanics again, and the only place in the FundedNext lineup we found a daily limit described as soft rather than terminal.

What is FundedNext's end-of-day trailing drawdown in the Labs?

FundedNext also run an experimental line. One Labs account — an FNL 1-Step 50K with no daily loss limit — uses an end-of-day trailing maximum loss limit, which FundedNext describe as a floor that is “not tied to real-time, floating equity during the trading session” and instead tracks the highest closed balance at the end of each day.

The mechanics are worth reading even if you never buy one, because they show the shape of a trailing floor that stops trailing. On a $50,000 account the limit starts at $48,000. Once the balance reaches $52,100 the floor locks permanently at $50,100 and never moves again — and if you take a withdrawal before reaching that point, the first withdrawal locks the floor at $50,100 anyway.

Counting the Stellar static floors, the Stellar Instant intraday trailing floor and this end-of-day variant, FundedNext operate three distinct drawdown regimes simultaneously. That is the same situation as E8 Markets, and the practical advice is identical: the model matters more than the percentage, and a mental model carried from one product to another will be wrong.

How do you work out your own FundedNext buffer?

The Prop Firm Challenge Calculator models static and trailing drawdown separately, which is exactly the distinction this page exists to make. Put a 10% static floor and a 6% trailing floor on the same balance and the difference in usable room after a winning run is larger than most traders expect. Free, no account.

For sizing a single trade against a daily limit, the Position Size Calculator turns a risk percentage and a stop distance into a lot size. At 1% per trade the Stellar 1-Step's 3% daily limit gives you three wrong answers before the day is over; the 2-Step gives you five.

How do you track FundedNext's rules while you trade?

Tradeventure's Prop Firm Mode models static, end-of-day trailing and intraday trailing drawdown against your logged trades, alongside daily loss limits and profit targets — which covers every model FundedNext uses. It works from the trades you log, so it is a second opinion on your risk rather than a replacement for FundedNext's own meter.

Frequently asked questions

Is FundedNext's maximum drawdown static or trailing?

Both, depending on the product — which is why articles about FundedNext contradict each other. Stellar 1-Step, Stellar 2-Step and Stellar Lite use a static maximum loss limit: FundedNext's help centre says it “is based on your initial balance”, so the floor is fixed at 94%, 90% and 92% of the starting balance respectively and never moves. Stellar Instant uses a trailing limit of 6% that rises with new equity highs and stops at the initial balance. FundedNext Futures Bolt and the Labs 1-Step account use end-of-day trailing. One firm, three drawdown models.

What is FundedNext's daily loss limit?

There is no single number. Stellar 1-Step is 3% of the initial balance, Stellar 2-Step is 5%, Stellar Lite is 4%, and Stellar Instant has no daily loss limit at all — FundedNext state plainly that “There are no Daily Loss Limits in Stellar Instant Accounts.” All of them are measured against the initial balance rather than the day's opening equity, and the limit resets at 00:00 server time, which is GMT+3 during Daylight Saving Time and GMT+2 for the rest of the year — not 00:00 New York time as several articles claim.

Which FundedNext rules actually end an account?

Only the two loss limits. Breaching the daily loss limit or the maximum loss limit on a Challenge account breaches or pauses it and it cannot be continued without a reset; breaching either on a funded FundedNext Account means starting again with a new Challenge. Everything else costs you money rather than the account: the 40% consistency rule only applies at the moment you request an on-demand reward, and the news rule reduces the share of qualifying profit you keep. Knowing which rules are terminal and which are merely expensive is the single most useful thing to hold in your head.

What is FundedNext's consistency rule — 30% or 40%?

40%. FundedNext state that your best trading day's profit should not exceed 40% of your total generated profit. Articles quoting 30% are wrong. Just as importantly, it is not a daily profit cap and it does not terminate anything — FundedNext say it “only applies at the point of your on-demand reward request” and that it applies to the FundedNext Account rather than the Challenge phase. Where two sources disagreed on whether this was a termination rule or a payout condition, FundedNext's own wording supports the payout reading.

How many products does FundedNext offer?

Four current CFD products in the Stellar line — 1-Step, 2-Step, Lite and Instant — plus a separate Futures line with its own help centre and its own names. Legacy, Flex, Rapid Pro and Rapid Daily are Futures products, not Stellar ones, which is why lists mixing them together look longer than the real lineup. Futures Rapid and Futures Bolt are listed as no longer available for purchase or reset effective 10 July 2026, and the older Express and Evaluation CFD models were retired in March 2025.

What is the profit target for the FundedNext Stellar challenges?

Stellar 1-Step is 10% in a single phase. Stellar 2-Step is 8% in Phase 1 and 5% in Phase 2 — not 10% and 5% as commonly reported; the 10% figure belongs to the 1-Step. Stellar Lite is 8% in Phase 1 and 4% in Phase 2. Stellar Instant has no target to pass because it is funded on purchase, though a reward request needs 5% growth on demand, or 1% growth after 14 days. None of the funded FundedNext Accounts carry a profit target.

How many trading days does FundedNext require?

It varies by product, so the widely repeated “minimum 5 trading days” is only sometimes right. Stellar 2-Step requires trading on at least 5 different days with at least 1 trade per day in each phase, and Stellar Lite requires 5 separate trading days. Stellar 1-Step requires only 2 different days, which makes it by far the quickest of the three to complete. We could not find a stated minimum for Stellar Instant.

Every figure on this page was read from FundedNext's own help centres in September 2026 — help.fundednext.com for the Stellar CFD line and helpfutures.fundednext.com for the Futures line, plus the Bolt product page. Nothing is taken from third-party summaries, and where FundedNext's own pages disagree with each other the page says so rather than choosing. FundedNext updates its products; confirm on fundednext.com before purchasing. This page is educational and is not financial advice, and Tradeventure is not affiliated with FundedNext.

Next: FTMO rules explained, The5ers rules explained and E8 Markets rules explained cover the firms most traders run alongside this one, and static vs trailing drawdown works the models through on a single account. If you are choosing a journal to track a challenge in, start with trading journal for prop firm traders, and both calculators are free with no signup — the Prop Firm Challenge Calculator and the Position Size Calculator, with more in free tools.