The5ers Rules Explained: All Five Programs Compared

Read this first: US traders are restrictedfrom The5ers' services. If you are trading from the United States the rest of this page will not help you — check your eligibility on the5ers.com before paying for anything.

Short answer. The5ers runs five programs and their rules are not interchangeable. High Stakes is a two-step evaluation: 10% then 5% profit on the new version, 8% then 5% on Classic, a 5% max daily loss, a 10% maximum loss that is absolute — the floor is taken from your initial balance and never moves — a minimum of 3 profitable days, and no time limit. The daily loss is measured from the higherof the previous day's closing balance or closing equity at 00:00 server time (UTC+3), which is not how FTMO does it.

The difference that costs people accounts: hitting the daily loss pauses trading on Hyper Growth but terminates it on Pro Growth — same firm, same 3% number, opposite consequence.

Rules verified against the5ers.com in September 2026, with figures marked † reported by independent sources instead. The5ers updates its programs — confirm on their site before purchasing.

Affiliate disclosure. Some links on this page are affiliate links — if you sign up through one, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Nothing else on this page changed because of it: the figures, the caveats and the gaps we flag are the same as they were before.

How do The5ers' five programs differ?

This is the table most people come here for. Third-party articles tend to describe “The5ers rules” as though there were one set of them. There are five, and the differences are not cosmetic.

RuleNew High StakesClassic High StakesHyper GrowthPro GrowthBootcamp
PhasesTwo — evaluationTwo — evaluationOneOneThree
Profit target10% (Phase 1), 5% (Phase 2)8% (Phase 1), 5% (Phase 2)10%10%6% per step
Max daily loss5%5%3%3%None while evaluating — 3% once funded
Hitting the daily lossTERMINATES immediately, no recoveryTERMINATES immediately, no recoveryPAUSES trading — not a terminationTERMINATES the accountFunded stage only — trades close, resume next day
Max loss / stop out10% of initial balance10% of initial balance6%6%5% per step; 4% once funded
Drawdown modelAbsolute / static — floor never movesAbsolute / static — floor never movesReported balance-based, i.e. static †Reported balance-based, i.e. static †Not stated in our source — check the5ers.com
Minimum profitable days3 per step — each at least 0.5% of initial balance3 per step — each at least 0.5% of initial balanceNot stated in our source — check the5ers.com3 — each at least 0.5% of initial balanceNot stated in our source — check the5ers.com
Time limitNoneNoneNot stated in our source — check the5ers.comNot stated in our source — check the5ers.comNone †
Leverage1:1001:1001:301:30Not stated in our source — check the5ers.com
Profit splitStarts at 80% on fundingStarts at 80% on fundingNot stated in our source — check the5ers.comStarts at 75/25Not stated in our source — check the5ers.com

A lot of those cells say “not stated”, and that is the honest picture rather than a gap in the research. The5ers documents High Stakes and Pro Growth in far more detail than Bootcamp. This page is built only from The5ers' own published material, so where that material is silent we leave a visible hole instead of filling it from an affiliate blog that may be describing a program which has since changed.

One correction worth qualifying: some competitor sites describe High Stakes as instant funding with no evaluation phase. The5ers' own FAQ describes a two-step evaluation, and that is what this page follows.

Where does each The5ers figure on this page come from?

Unmarked figures are stated by The5ers themselves. A dagger (†) marks a figure that independent sources report consistently but that we could not find in The5ers' own materials — treat those as likely rather than confirmed, and check before relying on one. A cell reading “not stated” means neither.

Keeping the three apart is the whole method here. A page that presents a forum consensus in the same typeface as a firm's published rule is not more useful for it, only more confident.

Is The5ers' Instant Funding program missing from this table?

The5ers' own September 2026 article lists five programs available now: Bootcamp, High Stakes, Hyper Growth, Pro Growth, and Instant Funding with no evaluation. The table above has no Instant Funding column, because our figures for it are nil — adding an empty column would look like coverage rather than a gap.

That also softens the correction below. Competitor sites describing “instant funding with no evaluation” may have been naming a real product and attaching it to the wrong one, rather than inventing it. High Stakes is still a two-step evaluation.

A separate secondary source, updated 4 September 2026, describes the current purchase surface differently again — Growth variants, High Stakes, Bootcamp, a limited-time Summer Plan, and Futures in Day Trade and Swing versions, with “Basecamp” and “Rebate” retired. The5ers' own article mentions none of those. We have not restructured this page around a secondary source, so if you are shopping today, check the current lineup on their site rather than assuming these five are all of it.

What is The5ers' daily loss limit measured from?

On High Stakes the daily loss limit is 5%, and the reference point is the higherof the previous day's closing balance or closing equity, measured at 00:00 server time (UTC+3).

That phrase — the higher of balance or equity — is doing more work than it looks. Here is The5ers' own worked example.

Account size$100,000
Equity at 23:59 server time$110,000
Daily max loss after rollover — 5% of that$5,500
Account closes if equity drops below$104,500

What happens to your floor if you hold a winner overnight?

Equity of $110,000 on a $100,000 account usually means an open trade in profit. That unrealised gain sets your reference for the next day, so your floor rises with it — to $104,500. Give back $5,501 of profit you never banked and the account closes, even though your realised balance has not moved from $100,000.

Traders describe this as being punished for a winning trade. It is more accurate to say the rule treats unrealised profit as real once it survives midnight, and asks you to protect it from then on.

Why do The5ers and FTMO move your floor in opposite directions?

This is the most useful thing on the page if you run evaluations at both firms, because the two calculations point in opposite directions.

Same position, same dayThe5ers High StakesFTMO 2-Step
Reference pointHigher of closing balance or equityThat day's starting balance
Reference with a $10,000 open winner$110,000$100,000
Daily limit$5,500$5,000
Floor$104,500$95,000
Room from $110,000 equity$5,500$15,000

The5ers gives you a larger daily limit and far less actual room, because the limit is measured from a higher starting point. A trader who has internalised FTMO's maths and carries that habit onto a High Stakes account will misjudge exactly the situation they are most likely to be in after a good day. Every limit on FTMO's side is worked through in FTMO rules explained.

The FTMO figures above come from that page and are used here only to make the contrast concrete. They describe FTMO's 2-Step; its 1-Step uses a 3% daily loss and a trailing maximum loss.

Does hitting the daily loss pause or terminate a The5ers account?

On High Stakes it terminates the account immediately, with no recovery. That is The5ers' own wording, and it settles something this page previously had to leave open.

Until September 2026 we presented this as disputed: The5ers' help centre said the account closes, while a third-party source described a 24-hour trading halt. It is not disputed any more — The5ers state the termination directly. The claim about a 24-hour pause is still circulating and it is wrong for High Stakes, which is worth knowing because acting on it costs the evaluation fee rather than a day.

Why do sources disagree about whether it pauses or terminates?

Because The5ers genuinely does both, and the split does not follow the number. Four programs, the same style of rule, two opposite outcomes.

ProgramDaily lossWhat it does
Hyper Growth3%Pauses trading — the account survives
Bootcamp (funded)3%Closes open trades; trading resumes the next day
Pro Growth3%Terminates the account
High Stakes5%Terminates immediately, no recovery

Three programs share the same 3% and two of them forgive it. That is why the false claim spreads: a writer who learned the rule on Hyper Growth and generalised it produces the “24-hour pause” story almost inevitably, and it sounds right because it IS right — somewhere else in the same lineup.

The practical version, if you run more than one: the daily loss number tells you nothing about the consequence. Check the consequence per program, every time.

Is The5ers' maximum loss taken from your initial balance?

On High Stakes the 10% maximum loss is absolute, taken from the initial balance, and the floor never moves. On a $100,000 account it sits at $90,000 permanently. Grow the account to $130,000 and the floor is still $90,000 — every dollar of profit is permanent room.

That is the trader-friendly model, and it behaves very differently from the trailing kind, where the floor climbs behind your equity and giving back a gain permanently shrinks your buffer. Both models are worked through on one account, with numbers, in static vs trailing drawdown.

Hyper Growth and Pro Growth both use a 6%stop out. Our source does not say whether that 6% is static or trailing, and the difference matters too much to guess — check it on the5ers.com. Bootcamp's maximum loss is not stated in our source at all.

How many profitable days does The5ers require?

High Stakes requires 3 profitable trading days. Pro Growth also requires 3, and is the only program our source defines the term for — precisely, and more strictly than most traders assume.

What counts (Pro Growth)Closed positions netting at least 0.5% of the initial balance
How it is calculatedThe lowerof midnight balance and midnight equity, minus the previous day's balance
On a $100,000 accountA day needs at least $500 of closed profit

Two consequences worth planning around. A day that finishes $200 up does not count, so scratching around near breakeven can leave you technically profitable and still short of the requirement. And because the calculation takes the lower of balance and equity, an open losing position at midnight can disqualify a day your closed trades had earned — the opposite direction to the daily loss rule, which takes the higher.

Our source does not state a minimum profitable day count for Hyper Growth or Bootcamp, and does not restate the 0.5% definition for High Stakes.

Does The5ers Bootcamp require a stop loss on every trade?

Bootcamp is three evaluation steps at a 6% profit target and a 5% maximum loss each, then a funded stage that tightens the maximum loss to 4% and asks 5% to scale. It is also the only program in the lineup where The5ers require a stop-loss on every position.

Two details about that rule are reported consistently by independent sources but do not appear in The5ers' own article, so treat them as likely rather than confirmed: that the stop-loss must be visible and capped at 2% risk of account balance, and that opening a position without one — or with one risking more than 2% — counts as a violation, with five violations terminating the account.

If that is right, it is the strictest mechanical rule anywhere in the lineup, and it is a counter for exactly the failure this whole site is about: you cannot widen a stop to avoid taking the loss. Worth confirming with support before buying, precisely because we cannot confirm it.

Bootcamp also has no minimum or maximum trading days, and scales toward a $4,000,000ceiling. Our two sources describe the scaling mechanism differently — The5ers' article says the account size doubles progressively, while secondary sources describe 5% growth for every 5% of profit — so we are not going to state one. Reported pricing is a split payment, around $95 upfront plus $205 on passing for a $100K account, and $225 plus $350 for $250K; that is secondary-source figure too, and prices move.

When does a The5ers account expire for inactivity?

High Stakes accounts expire after 30 consecutive days with no trading activity, and the counter starts at registration.

This one deserves its own section because it is unusual and because the wording catches people out. It is not 30 days from your first trade. Buy an evaluation, get busy, come back five weeks later and there may be nothing to come back to — without a single trade placed.

It also sits in tension with the other headline term: High Stakes has no time limit to complete. Both are true. There is no deadline for finishing, but there is a deadline for starting, and for every 30-day gap after that. If you trade in bursts around a job, this is the rule most likely to end your account and the one nobody writes about.

Our source documents this under High Stakes and does not state whether the other four programs work the same way.

Who cannot trade with The5ers, and what is banned?

Are US traders eligible for The5ers?

US traders are restricted from The5ers' services. This is the first thing to check, not the last — no amount of rule knowledge helps if you cannot open an account. Confirm your eligibility on the5ers.com.

Which trading strategies does The5ers prohibit?

Our source lists high-frequency trading, one-sided bets and arbitrage as prohibited.

News trading is now answered, for High Stakes at least. The5ers restrict order execution within two minutes either side of a high-impact news event. That is narrower than the blanket ban some sources describe: it is a window around the release, not a prohibition on trading the news at all. Our source states it for High Stakes and does not extend it to the other programs.

Copy trading remains unclear.Sources disagree and The5ers' own material does not settle it. If it is central to how you trade, that is a question for their support before you buy, not something to discover during a payout review.

What is The5ers' profit split, and how does scaling work?

Profit splits run from 70% to 100%, with most funded accounts at 80% and payouts every two weeks. Pro Growth starts at 75/25 and scales incrementally to a $500,000 cap. Consistent traders can scale toward $4M.

The5ers has been running since 2016 and is forex-first, which makes it one of the longer-lived firms in a category where that is genuinely worth something.

Which The5ers program should you choose?

Not a recommendation — a reading of what each rule set rewards.

  • You hold positions overnight. Read the daily loss section again before choosing High Stakes. The higher-of-balance-or-equity reference means unrealised profit that survives midnight tightens your floor the next day.
  • You have had a challenge ended by one bad day. Hyper Growth is the only program our source describes as pausing rather than terminating on a daily loss breach. If that failure mode is your history, it is the one difference on this page that changes your outcome.
  • You want the largest permanent buffer. High Stakes has the widest maximum loss at 10% and it is static, so profit becomes permanent room. Hyper Growth and Pro Growth stop out at 6%.
  • You grind small consistent days.Check Pro Growth's 0.5% definition first. Three profitable days sounds easy until each one has to clear $500 on a $100,000 account.
  • You trade in bursts around a job. The 30-day inactivity rule is your real constraint, not the profit target.
  • You prefer smaller steps.Bootcamp asks 6% per phase across three phases rather than 10% in one. Our source says little else about it, so treat the rest as unknown until you have read The5ers' own terms.

How do you work out your own The5ers buffer?

Our Prop Firm Challenge Calculator is free and needs no account. Enter your account size and it returns your profit target, daily loss limit and drawdown buffer, with static and trailing modelled separately — which matters here, because High Stakes is static and our source does not say what Hyper Growth and Pro Growth are.

For per-trade sizing against those limits, the Position Size Calculator turns a risk percentage and a stop distance into a lot size. At 1% per trade against a 3% daily loss you can be wrong three times in a day. At 1.5% you get two.

How do you track The5ers' rules while you trade?

Tradeventure's Prop Firm Mode models static, end-of-day trailing and intraday trailing drawdown against your logged trades, alongside daily loss limits, profit targets and minimum trading days — and warns you as you approach a breach rather than after it. It works from the trades you log, so it is a second opinion on your risk, not a replacement for your firm's own meter.

Frequently asked questions

Can US traders use The5ers?

No. US traders are restricted from The5ers' services. This is a hard filter rather than a formality, so confirm your eligibility on the5ers.com before paying for any evaluation. Verified against the5ers.com, August 2026.

How is The5ers daily loss limit calculated?

On High Stakes it is 5%, taken from the higher of the previous day's closing balance or closing equity, measured at 00:00 server time (UTC+3). The5ers' own example: on a $100,000 account with equity of $110,000 at 23:59 server time, the daily max loss after rollover is $5,500, and if equity drops below $104,500 the account closes. Because the reference is the higher of balance and equity, an open winner held through midnight raises your floor with it.

How does The5ers daily loss differ from FTMO's?

FTMO measures from the day's starting balance. The5ers takes the higher of the previous day's closing balance or closing equity. A trader carrying an unrealised winner through midnight gets a higher reference point at The5ers, and therefore a higher stop-out level, which means less room to give that profit back. Under FTMO the floor stays anchored to realised balance instead.

What happens if I hit the daily loss limit on The5ers?

It depends on the program, and the split does not follow the number. On High Stakes, hitting the 5% daily loss terminates the account immediately with no recovery, in The5ers' own words. On Pro Growth the 3% daily loss also terminates. But on Hyper Growth the same 3% only pauses trading, and on a funded Bootcamp account it closes your open trades and lets you resume the next day. Three programs share a 3% daily loss and two of them forgive it, which is why the false claim that High Stakes gives you a 24-hour pause keeps circulating — it is true, just of a different program.

Is The5ers max loss trailing or static?

On High Stakes it is static. The 10% maximum loss is absolute, taken from the initial balance, and the floor never moves — on a $100,000 account it stays at $90,000 whatever you make. Our source does not state the drawdown model for Hyper Growth, Pro Growth or Bootcamp, so check Independent sources describe Hyper Growth and Pro Growth's 6% stop out as balance-based, which would also make it static, but The5ers' own materials do not say so — verify that before relying on it. Bootcamp's drawdown model is not stated anywhere we trust.

What counts as a profitable day on The5ers?

High Stakes requires a minimum of 3 profitable trading days. Pro Growth also requires 3, and defines one precisely: closed positions netting at least 0.5% of the initial balance, calculated as the lower of midnight balance and midnight equity, minus the previous day's balance. A small green day does not necessarily count on Pro Growth.

Do The5ers accounts expire?

There is no time limit to complete High Stakes, but there is an inactivity rule: accounts expire after 30 consecutive days with no trading activity, and the counter starts at registration rather than at your first trade. Buying an evaluation and leaving it alone for a month can end it before you have placed a single trade. Our source documents this under High Stakes and does not restate it for the other programs.

Rules verified against the5ers.com in September 2026. Unmarked figures are The5ers’ own; figures marked † are reported by independent sources and were not found in The5ers’ materials. They update their programs — confirm on their site before purchasing. This page is educational and is not financial advice. Tradeventure is not owned by, operated by or endorsed by The5ers; our only commercial relationship with them is the affiliate link disclosed below.

Affiliate disclosure. Some links on this page are affiliate links — if you sign up through one, we earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Nothing else on this page changed because of it: the figures, the caveats and the gaps we flag are the same as they were before.

E8 Markets rules explained is worth reading alongside this one: E8 sells four single-phase products that differ by drawdown model rather than by target, and their published rules are unusually complete. FundedNext rules explained does the same for FundedNext's four Stellar products, where the maximum drawdown is static on three of them and trailing on the fourth.

For the behavioural side of a challenge — and how Prop Firm Mode is configured for a firm like this one — see trading journal for prop firm traders.

Next: FTMO rules explained covers the other firm most traders run alongside this one, and static vs trailing drawdown works both models through on a single account. Both calculators are free with no signup — the Prop Firm Challenge Calculator and the Position Size Calculator, with more in free tools. If you are picking a journal to track a challenge in, we wrote honest comparisons against TradeZella, Edgewonk and Tradervue.